The motherly.

When I was a little girl
scraped knees would incur
the worst of my pain
“don’t worry, love”
my mother would say
as she’d wipe tears from my eyes
“it is far from your heart”
as I grew older
I carried her words with me
as a reminder that I could always surpass the afflictions
I was faced with; but most days now,
it seems as though I’m growing weaker,
and the universe is getting better aim.
~
when I was a younger woman
heartbreak would occur
the worst of my pain.
“stay strong, love”
my mother would say
as she let the tears fall from my face.
“let your tears run their course”
I carried her words with me
as a reminder that every experience
be it sweet or sour has a course to run.
so on days when you my daughter feel weak,
remember you too must let things
run their course.
Leave a Reply

